Sauteed Green Beans with Fresh Bacon

Recipes

My grandmother has always loved green beans. She’s served them to me ever since my chubby little fingers were coordinated enough to hold their limp, dull olive green bodies. Every time she made them the same way:

    Pour can of green beans into sauce pan.

    Add diced onion and minced bacon.

    Cook until bacon will no longer give family Listeria.

    Serve.

This was all well and good as far as my sophisticated 3-year old palate was concerned, but by the time I went to my first swanky restaurant at age 18, I detested green beans…until I saw their vibrant green goodness on a friend’s plate. These weren’t mushy, delapidated sodium vessels. They were crisp and brilliantly fibrous and almost resembled something that came from a plant!  I gave green beans another chance and now I like them so much I don’t even hold it against them when I have to snip their ends off because it’s just a reminder of what a gift they are from our beautiful earth and our bountiful Lord.

Photo courtesy the handsome Justin Butts www.fourstringfarm.com

Photo courtesy of the handsome Justin Butts. Check out more of his awesomeness at http://www.fourstringfarm.com

 Almost-Not-Quite Nan’s Green Beans

Prep time: 5 mins

Cook time: 15 mins

Ingredients:

1 lb fresh green beans, with ends snipped

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 lb fresh bacon, diced

1 large shallot, diced

salt and red pepper

  1. Heat olive oil on medium heat in a frying pan.
  2. Add diced shallots and bacon. Cook, stirring occasionally until onions are becoming translucent and bacon begins to brown.
  3. Add green beans. Season, as desired, with salt and pepper. Continue to cook until beans are tender-crisp.
Leave a Reply

